Meet the board

Richard Brown CBE

Richard Brown

Chairman (appointed 2011)

Richard has extensive chairing experience with a strong focus on employees, customers and change management. He has strong links with senior level stakeholders at both local and national level, and has been involved in a range of economic development and regeneration programmes.

Read more about Richard Brown

Paul Evans

Vice Chairman and Chair of Governance Committee (appointed 2007)

Paul has extensive regeneration expertise, having worked within local and national government for 30 years. Previous roles have included Director of Regeneration at the London boroughs of Southwark and Tower Hamlets, Director of UK Regeneration and Director of Urban Policy and Regeneration at the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Read more about Paul Evans

Rod Cahill BA (Hons)


Co-optee (appointed 2015)

Rod is a well-known, respected and influential housing professional. His leadership has enabled Catalyst to be an effective commercial developer while remaining committed to wider social change, using the organisation’s financial and organisations strength to build new homes and help transform neighbourhoods.

Read more about Rod Cahill

John Sheldrick

John SheldrickChair of Audit Committee (appointed 2010)

John has extensive board experience with a number of major public companies. He was Group Finance Director of Johnson Matthey plc for 20 years helping to transform the company into one of the UK’s most successful technology based manufacturing companies.

Read more about John Sheldrick

Heneage Stevenson

Chair of Catalyst by Design (appointed 2011)

Heneage is an experienced property investor having worked on over £2bn of listed transactions and over £1bn of private equity transactions in roles at Schroder Salomon/Citigroup and Mountgrange/Clearbell.


Read more about Heneage Stevenson

Nici Audhlam-Gardiner


Chair of Treasury Committee (appointed 2013)

Nici heads-up Product, Marketing and Digital at the Royal Bank of Scotland of RBS. Her primary responsibility on the Catalyst Board is finance. Previously, she held the positions of Director of Mortgages and Director of Banking for all UK brands of Santander Bank.

Read more about Nici Audhlam-Gardiner

Anne Markey

Anne-Markey-smallChair of Quality and Sustainability Panel (appointed 2013)

Anne is an architect and joint founding director of Phelan Architects and brings considerable experience to her role as Director of Catalyst by Design. In addition to architectural practice, Anne heads up the Projects Office at the Sir John Cass Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design at London Metropolitan University.

Read more about Anne Markey

Alison Knocker

Alison-Knocker-smallChair of Customer Experience Committee (appointed 2013)

Alison’s Board responsibility includes Audit and Risk as well as Catalyst’s growing presence outside of London.  She is Leadership Development Director at IMD Media Ltd, helping prepare the business for future growth by developing management’s team leadership skills.

Read more about Alison Knocker

 Terry Hartwell


Catalyst Housing Limited Board Member (appointed 2016)

Terry is a chartered surveyor with over 35 years experience in commercial property. He has a degree in Valuation and Estate Management and became a Fellow of the RICS in 1993.

Read more about Terry Hartwell

 Heide Baumann


Catalyst Housing Limited Board Member (appointed 2016)

Heide has led teams in 17 countries in media, IT and telecoms organisations; most recently British Telecom and cable operator Liberty Global.

Read more about Heide Baumann